School Start &

Dismissal Times

Phase I--Task Force: February 2014-December 2014
Phase II--New Work: January 2015-December 2015
Phase III--Community Involvement: January 2016-February 2016
Phase IV--Board Requested Options: March 2016-Present

Stakeholder Meetings

Anne Arundel County Public Schools held four community forums to provide information and solicit feedback regarding a proposal (December 2015) to shift school start and dismissal times – pending full funding and broad community support – beginning in the 2017-2018 school year.

All forums were open to the public, but were held in locations to make them more convenient to those in all areas of the county as indicated below. Forums were held from 6:30 to 8 p.m. on the following dates:

  • Canceled:  Wednesday, January 27, at Broadneck High School. A variety of scheduling conflicts before the Board of Education is set to adopt its recommended Fiscal Year 2017 budget will prevent Anne Arundel County Public Schools from rescheduling this January 27 community forum on school start and dismissal times that was postponed by snow .
  • Tuesday, February 2, at North County High School (Chesapeake, North County, and Northeast clusters)
  • Thursday, February 4, at South River High School (Annapolis, Broadneck, Arundel, South River and Southern clusters)
  • Monday, February 8, at Old Mill High School (Glen Burnie, Meade, and Old Mill, and Severna Park clusters)

Spanish interpreters were available at the February 4 forum at South River High School .

The forums were not public hearings. Those attending heard a presentation on the thought process behind the development of the plan and gained a better understanding of how the plan would work if funded and implemented. The forums also offered an opportunity to exchange ideas in small-group discussions.


Miss a community forum?

Watch Superintendent George Arlotto's overview of why Anne Arundel County Public Schools is discussing a change in school start dismissal times and an overview of his proposed model for the 2017-2018 school year.