School Start &

Dismissal Times

Phase I--Task Force: February 2014-December 2014
Phase II--New Work: January 2015-December 2015
Phase III--Community Involvement: January 2016-February 2016
Phase IV--Board Requested Options: March 2016-Present

Task Force Members

Charged with presenting the Board of Education with recommendations for changing school start times, the AACPS School Start Times Task Force consists of school system personnel, officials from Anne Arundel County Police Department, Anne Arundel County Department of Recreation and Parks, and appointees from integral groups across the county. The Task Force includes:

  • Dr. Maureen McMahon, Deputy Superintendent of Academic and Strategic Initiatives, AACPS,
    Co-Chair for Task Force

  • Kathy Lane, Executive Director of Alternative Education, AACPS,
    Co-Chair for Task Force

  • Lt. Doyle Batten, Commander, School Safety Section, Anne Arundel County Police Department

  • Pam Bukowski , President, Anne Arundel County Council of PTAs

  • Kia Chandler, Esq ., Parent and member of the Countywide Citizen Advisory Committee

  • Franklin Chaney , Chief of Recreation Services, Anne Arundel County Department of Recreation and Parks

  • Jacob Horstkamp , Student, North County High School and member of the Chesapeake Regional Association of Student Councils (CRASC)

  • Greg LeGrand , * Coordinator of Athletics, AACPS

  • Heather Macintosh , Co-Founder, Anne Arundel County chapter, Start School Later

  • Wanda McIntire , Transportation Spcialist, AACPS

  • William Myers , Principal, South River High School and President of the Association of Educational Leaders

  • Kate Snyder , Teacher, MacArthur Middle School, representative of the Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County

  • Carol Streeter , Chair, Parent Involvement Advisory Committee

  • Chris Truffer , Regional Assistant Superintendent, Annapolis and Broadneck clusters, AACPS

  • Teresa Tudor , Senior Manager, School and Family Partnerships, AACPS

*Upon Mr. LeGrand's exit from the Task Force in late Spring 2014, the Office of Athletics provided expert athletics-related imput and guidance regularly to the Task Force throughout the remaining months of work.

The following are also involved in supporting Phase II of the AACPS School Start & Dismissal Times Discussion:

  • Patrick Crain, Senior Manager of Alternative Programs, AACPS
  • Clayton Culp , Coordinator of Athletics, AACPS
  • Lauren Grey-Hawkins , Business & Communication Specialist, Partnerships Development and Marketing Department, AACPS